Whitehall College of Further Education: FETAC links scheme

By: Whitehall College  05/12/2011
Keywords: college

Since its inception almost a decade ago the Higher Education Links Scheme, linking specific FETAC (NCVA Level 5) Awards to reserved places on Higher Education courses, has expanded and broadened its progression routes to third level education courses in a range of higher education institutions. For FETAC graduates there are twenty-nine higher education institutions including Universities, Institutes of Technology and private colleges offering places on a variety of courses.

For 2005, the Institutes of Technology and some other higher education institutions have introduced new pilot admissions criteria and scoring systems for FETAC (NCVA Level 5 and Level 6) Award applicants. This new arrangement intends to provide broader access and facilitate greater progression routes between all levels of the National Framework of Qualifications. Under this initiative the minimum entry requirement to:

  • Higher Certificate (Level 6) courses or Ordinary Degree (Level 7) courses is any FETAC (NCVA Level 5 or 6) Award
  • Honours Degree (Level 8) courses (with the exception of nursing) is a FETAC (NCVA Level 5 or Level 6) Award in a course in a cognate area and including a distinction in at least three modules

For some courses, including nursing there may be specific module and/or award requirements. Please see the third level college prospectus for such requirements.

Under this initiative, all course places are open to FETAC (NCVA Level 5 and Level 6) Award holders, along with Leaving Certificate applicants. Hence the quota of places under the Higher Education Links Scheme does not apply to this pilot scheme.

However, the Higher Education Links Scheme (where a quota of places are available) is continuing to operate for the Higher Education Institutions listed below:

  • Dublin City University
  • Dublin Institute of Technology
  • Carlow College
  • Mary Immaculate College
  • University of Limerick
  • Mater Dei College
  • Milltown Institute
  • National College of Art and Design
  • NUI Maynooth
  • Shannon College of Hotel Management
  • University College Cork (NUI)
  • University College Dublin (NUI)

For these colleges, there is a listing of specific FETAC (NCVA Level 5) Awards linked to certain courses in the above institutions. Please see the FETAC website for relevant information www.fetac.ie

Related Pages:

Keywords: college

Other products and services from Whitehall College


Whitehall College of Further Education: Employment

Links with employers are constantly being fostered, through our employment service, our work experience programmes and through the FIT programme. Work experience forms an integral part of all FETAC certified courses in the college. A minimum of two weeks relevant work experience is a requirement for all courses. The College has a long record or securing employment for our students.


Whitehall College of Further Education: Disability

The aim of this service is to support individual students who have mobility or other physically difficulties to maximize their learning experiences. Applications are made by the college on an individual basis to the HEA support fund for support needs identified by the Disability Officer. This support may include the employment of Personal Assistants.


Whitehall College of Further Education: Career Guidance

As students come to the end of their course it is necessary to look at and plan for the future, whether this is into employment or applying for other educational courses. A visiting Psychologist from the CDVEC Psychological service will also see students when they visit the college every two weeks. All students are issued with a Student Identity Card when their registration process has been completed.