Shop | John Carty - one of Ireland’s finest traditional musicians on fiddle, banjo, flute and guitar

By: John Carty Music  05/12/2011
Keywords: Guitar, reels, Traditional Musicians

John Carty & Brian Rooney
1. Morris Scanlon’s / The Wandering Minstrel / Up Leitrim (jigs)
2. The Bunch of Green Rushes / The Stone in the Field / Corry Hilly (reels)
3. O’Dwyer’s / Kilannon’s / Killavil Fancy (hornpipe/reels)
4. The Worn Torn Petticoat / Spike Island Lassies (slide/reel)
5. Old John’s / A Thousand Farewells (jigs)
6. Collier’s / Rakish Paddy / Pinch of Snuff (reels)
7. Bonny Annie / The Clare Dragoons (polkas)
8. My Own Western Home (waltz)
9. Highest Hill in Sligo / Palmer’s Gate (reels)
10. Fig for a Kiss / Dooney Rock (slip jigs)
11. Granuaile / Green Groves of Erin / The Mountain Top (barndance/reels)
12. Old Arboe / The Battering Ram / The Drimacoo Reel (air/jig/reel)
13. Humours of Ballinlass / O’Callaghan’s (hornpipes)
14. Ensemble Set (jig/barndance/reel/jig/reels)  
2011 (RR010)
Meadbh - The Crimson Path
1 The Birth of Meadbh
2 Reading the Signs
3 Courage
4 Thoughts of Plunder
5 Heart Warrior
6 Omens
7 The Path
8 Saddle your horses
9 The Journey
10 The Lines of Road
11 Cuchulainn’s Stand
12 Death of Ferdia
13 The Capture of the Bull
14 A Meeting of the two Bulls
15 Homecoming
16 Aftermath and Contemplation
17 The World still loves Women
18 The Death of Meadbh
19 The Moon Woman 
2011 (RR009)
Meadbh -The Crimson Path, is a unique collaboration between poet Ann Joyce and traditional musician and composer John Carty. Through original narrative, poetry, music and song, it relates the legend of Queen Meadbh (Maeve), fabled warrior queen of the Irish province of Connacht and journeys through the ancient and mythical landscape of 1st century Celtic Ireland. Signs and symbols were an important feature of this landscape and the queen's destiny was always foretold with portents and omens.All music composed and arranged by John Carty. Poetry and song lyrics composed by Ann Joyce
Performed by:
John Carty: Violin, flute, tenor guitar
Ann Joyce : Spoken Voice
Alec Finn: Bouzouki and guitar
France Gaffney: Guitar
Johnny McDonagh: Bodhran
Mary Staunton: Song vocal on Saddle your Horses, Homecoming and The Moonwoman
Maggie Carty: Song vocal on The Moonwoman or Add to Cart "Meadbh - The Crimson Path" Cost of CD €15.00 plus postage & packaging.
It's Not Racket Science - At the Racket
1. Home Boys Home /Rocky Road To Dublin/Dublin Bay
2. The Wreck Of The 99 / Dem Golden Slippers /Goodbye Mick, Goodbye Pat
3. Stack Of Barley / Bantry Bay
4. Maloney Puts His Name Above The Door
5. Lady Anne Montgomery / Martin Mulhaire's
6. Boys Of Ballisodare
7. The Linnet's Chorus / The Beautiful Goldfinch
8. Won't You Come, Come Back To Connemara
9. Roscommon Polka /The Kilglass Lakes /What Brought You In There
10.Kitty Gone A Clinking Coming From The Fair/Pat Ward's/Trip To Birmingham /Darby's Farewell
11. A Drink In The Morning
12. Julia Delaney / Paddy Fahy's
13. Maggie's Afternoon Nap 
RR008 2008
John Carty, Brian McGrath, Seamus O’Donnell and Michael McCague“The music of At the Racket makes you smile” – Arty McGlynn
It’s Not Racket Science is the new album from 1920’s inspired Irish trad band At the Racket. Formed in 1997 this is the band’s third CD and marks the opening of a new chapter with the introduction of their newest member, guitarist Michael McCague. It’s Not Racket Science delves into the golden era of recorded music with a new freshness to the songs, medleys, waltzes, reels, polkas and jigs. Seamus O’Donnell art at story telling through song is perfectly captured here. His rendition of “Maloney Puts His Name Above the Door” is a highlight of the album. It has not been recorded since the Flanagan Brothers in 1930 and is perfectly suited to Seamus’ velvet voice. His saxophone contributions are at their playful best as he throws off the harness on timeless favourites such as the “Stack of Barley” and on big reels like “Julia Delaney’s” and “Paddy Fahy’s” never before explored with such instrumentation. For It’s Not Racket Science Brian McGrath showcases more his virtuosity as a banjo player on such delights as “Lady Ann Montgomery” and “Liam Farrell’s” where he is duelling banjos with John Carty. On this CD McGrath’s vamping piano is once again the anchor behind the band. The shackles are off John Carty in this recording, his innovative and imaginative fiddle playing create his comfort zone of both abandonment and control where he is totally relaxed and at home. Included are two of Carty’s own compositions the reel “What Brought You in There” and “Maggie’s Afternoon Nap", a swingy little tune that just captures the fun, joy and musicality that is At the Racket.Mike’s timeless tenor guitar playing has brought a new freshness to the racket sound. Whether it is on bouzouki, tenor guitar or guitar Mike’s maturity and experience belies his young years. One of the hottest young accompanists in the country!
Last Night's Fun
featuring Tanseys Favorite/The Heather Breeze,
Devaneys Goat/The Whistling Postman,
and The Home Ruler/The Boys of Bluehill
1996 (SHA-CD-79098)
Upon My Soul - James Carty
2006 RR006
James Carty's debut album on flute featuring Alec Finn(Bouzouki), Francis Gaffney (guitar), Joe Kennedy (bodhrán), John P Carty (flute), John Carty(flute and banjo)
Includes liner notes by Michael Hynes and Gregory Daly. or Add to the Cart

Keywords: Guitar, reels, Tenor Guitar, Traditional Musician, Traditional Musicians